Sources

Where does the content on Openverse come from?

There is openly licensed content hosted on millions of domains across the breadth of the internet. Our team systematically identifies providers hosting CC-licensed content. If it’s a good fit, we index that content and make it discoverable through Openverse.

Some providers have multiple different groupings of content within them. Flickr has sources ranging from NASA to personal photography. The Smithsonian Institute comprises a dozen diverse collections. Wikimedia Commons runs the gamut in terms of content, and is used by several Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums highlighting some or all of their digitized collections.

Openverse is especially grateful for the work of Europeana, an organization that works to digitize and make discoverable cultural heritage works across Europe. Openverse is able to index hundreds of valuable sources through a single integration with the Europeana API.

How do we decide what sources to add next?

We have a never ending list of possible sources to research prior to integration. We ask ourselves questions like:

  • What is the impact or importance of this source to our users? If it exists within a provider like Wikimedia Commons, is it valuable for our users to be able to filter by this source directly?
  • Is licensing and attribution information clearly displayed to enable confident reuse?
  • How many new total items or new types of items can we bring to our users through this integration? Some sources are direct integrations, while others may be a source within a source.

We appreciate suggestions for new sources from our community of users.

Suggest a new source

Clicking on a Source allows you to browse and filter items within that source.

Image Sources

Source
Domain
Total items
Animal Diversity Web animaldiversity.org 15,554
Biodiversity Heritage Library biodiversitylibrary.org 243,596
Brooklyn Museum brooklynmuseum.org 63,340
Cleveland Museum of Art clevelandart.org 37,332
Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon capl.washjeff.edu 15,143
DeviantArt deviantart.com 238,982
Digitalt Museum digitaltmuseum.no 289,769
Flickr flickr.com 468,372,077
Flora-On flora-on.pt 55,010
Geograph Britain and Ireland geograph.org.uk 1,090,119
McCord Museum musee-mccord.qc.ca 108,815
Metropolitan Museum of Art metmuseum.org 255,420
Museums Victoria museumsvictoria.com.au 160,720
NASA nasa.gov 115,600
New York Public Library nypl.org 1,276
PhyloPic phylopic.org 3,967
Rawpixel rawpixel.com 25,831
Rijksmuseum rijksmuseum.nl 29,999
SVG Silh svgsilh.com 358,942
Science Museum – UK sciencemuseum.org.uk 82,277
Sketchfab sketchfab.com 37,872
Smithsonian Institution Archives siarchives.si.edu 8,180
Smithsonian Institution: Anacostia Community Museum anacostia.si.edu 597
Smithsonian Institution: Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum cooperhewitt.org 71,765
Smithsonian Institution: Freer Gallery of Art asia.si.edu 6,017
Smithsonian Institution: Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden hirshhorn.si.edu 427
Smithsonian Institution: National Air and Space Museum airandspace.si.edu 5,946
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of African American History and Culture nmaahc.si.edu 8,544
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of African Art africa.si.edu 241
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of American History americanhistory.si.edu 9,720
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of Natural History naturalhistory.si.edu 3,379,476
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of the American Indian americanindian.si.edu 246
Smithsonian Institution: National Portrait Gallery npg.si.edu 13,874
Smithsonian Institution: National Postal Museum postalmuseum.si.edu 3,628
Smithsonian Institution: National Zoo nationalzoo.si.edu 462
Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian American Art Museum americanart.si.edu 12,095
Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian Gardens gardens.si.edu 4,907
Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian Libraries library.si.edu 55
SpaceX spacex.com 924
StockSnap.io stocksnap.io 35,228
Thingiverse thingiverse.com 32,395
Thorvaldsens Museum thorvaldsensmuseum.dk 5,356
WOCinTech Chat wocintechchat.com 267
WP Photo Directory wordpress.org 2,518
Wikimedia Commons commons.wikimedia.org 48,323,576
World Register of Marine Species marinespecies.org 19,783

Audio Sources

Source
Domain
Total items
Freesound freesound.org 60,069
Jamendo jamendo.com 89,136
Wikimedia Commons commons.wikimedia.org 25,083